traciwentling

Inspiration Day

Saturday, July 21 — A Mostly Perfect Day

on July 22, 2012

After complaining to the manager about the cigarette smoke last night, I was informed that in Iowa, every motel is allowed at least seven smoking rooms.  Mine was right across from the seven.  However, amazingly, having the air conditioner on and a semi- wet towel under the door seemed to keep it out for the most part and I slept pretty well.  In their defense, they did offer to move me to a different floor, but I was not too keen on carrying my bike up a set of stairs.  Plus, I had already been moved once because no water would come out of the shower.  This may be the last time I stay in a Motel 8.  Just saying.

I woke up at 4:00 and started packing up.  A quick trip to McDonalds for blueberry oatmeal (it’s good), I was on the bike path heading towards the bridge at 6:00.  Four miles to the bridge from my motel and I was crossing the Mississippi one more time.

I am very happy to be riding mostly east again.  I have been asked why the Adventure Cycling route goes so far south and the answer is: to avoid Chicago.

Since I was leaving the river, I was expecting steep and continual hills today.  Not so and pleasantly surprised!  There were a few nasty ones, but nothing I could not handle with a little heavy breathing.  The scenery was beautiful and the roads were mostly flat and in good condition (except for one stretch I’ll tell you about in a minute).  The sun was not exactly shinning, but I could see blue sky here and there so I was happy.  No wind today at all.  Not a breeze from any direction.  It was simply a lovely first day in Illinois.  There were so many photo opportunities that I spent much of the day with the strap of the camera in my mouth rather than in my Bento Bag.

The three to five mile stretch that was so bad…WAS HORRIBLE!  The crew who laid this asphalt did not have mothers who instilled “if you’re going to do it, do it right”.  If I was a judge, I would make them re-do it and then would sentence them all to six months in jail.  I’m not kidding, it was THAT BAD.  With my long chain, if the road is bumpy, I can’t go over six or seven mph or the chain will jump right off the derailleur.  I was so relieved when I rolled off of it back onto smooth asphalt.  Ahhhhh!

At one point I was cruising along about 12 mph and a bicyclist snuck up on me from behind.  He came up on me so fast; I didn’t even see him coming.  He’s one of those “racer types”.  You know…fit, wearing a team kit…shaved legs…nice bike.  You know the type.

His name was Bill Ford and he lives in Illinois, but races for the bike shop in Iowa that worked on my bike yesterday.  We rode along for awhile and then we stopped to talk and I gave him one of my cards and told him my story.  He is the Lock Chief at the Muscatine Lock and Dam.  He is also the Director of Diving Operations for the Rock Island District.  Don’t hear those job titles much in Kansas, huh?  We started riding again and rode for a few miles before he turned left and took off like a flash.  I believe he was on a 50 mile training ride.  One of the things he mentioned was that he has a friend who rides a Bacchetta recumbent on these same roads almost daily, so he thought I was his friend right up until he noticed my panniers.

Bill had warned me about a mean dog up the road and gave me directions to an alternate route to avoid him.  The trade off is that the alternate road is hilly.  I had several miles to make the decision and stopped at a convenience store for ice.  There was an older gentleman standing at the door and opened it for me.  He started off the conversation with a question: “heading to Preemption?”  I told him that yes, that was my next town, but I had been warned about a chasing dog on that road and was thinking of taking the alternate route.  He used some colorful words saying something to the fact that it was dang hilly.  I decided right then and there that I would take my chances with the dog.  I got all prayed up asking the Lord to have the dog pre-occupied or asleep or something.  When I got there the dog was tied to a tree.  I thought he was going to kill himself trying to get at me with that chain around his neck.  He barked like he was rabid and was leaping a foot into the air over and over and over.  OMGosh, I was so thankful my prayers were answered otherwise there may not have been a blog tonight.

All my Aunties, please don’t freak out with this next paragraph.  I am fine.  Nothing bad happened.

When I got to Cambridge this afternoon, I rode around trying to find the city park or somewhere to pitch my tent.  I stopped on Main Street looking for someone to ask and a man walked up to me.  The poor guy obviously had health issues and he asked me about my trip. When I told him I was looking for a place to pitch my tent in town he offered his father’s back yard.  Now, this gentleman had to be at least 70; so how old was his father?  Ninety-six and still living in his own home and even has a girlfriend.  He asked me to walk with him to his dad’s house to meet him.  I wasn’t sure about that, yet, I didn’t want to hurt his feelings (because I suspected he might have Parkinson’s).  It was a small ranch nice-kept home and yard.  When I walked into the house, his father got up out of his chair to shake my hand.  His girlfriend was there and was watching TV with him.  I quickly told them all my story and that I was on a mission to find a campground then left as soon as I politely could.  I pushed my bike to the Baptist Church and there was a lady (Bonnie) across the street doing some gardening.  I walked over and mentioned my predicament and she told me about the campground where I am right now.  It’s about five miles off my route, but I am comfortable here.  It is a real campground with showers!  Yes, I’m a happy camper.

Do I hear Bingo over a loud speaker?  Yes, I just looked out of my tent and they have twinkly lights drooping all over around the pavilion and there are probably 30 people sitting around tables playing Bingo.  Dang…I should be over there playing!  Well, at least I’m going to go take a picture for you 😎

Quick one-handed shot as I passed over the Mississippi one last time

Share this:

Posted in Uncategorized


One response to “Saturday, July 21 — A Mostly Perfect Day

  1. Carol Stevens says:

    Traci, I had to laugh today at your blog, I really think that you should plan to write a book after you finish your mission.I keep all you posts in a seperate file. They are interesting to read.

Leave a comment