traciwentling

Inspiration Day

An Unusual Shakedown Ride

on June 26, 2016

On Friday I rode to Offerle to my brother, Mitch’s home for my shakedown ride. This wasn’t so much about the riding as it was about setting up my new one-man tent, sleeping in it and then determining if I have everything I need in my panniers.

The night before we had a good soaking rain so I decided to stay on the pavement for the day (I’m just not ready to get my bike and gear muddy). I did venture North over to Eagle Road to ride some great hills which added a few extra miles. It was a TAILWIND all the way to Offerle and therefore had a nice push up those hills. Nothing like the wind at your back to feel invincible.

image

Stopped to test out my mosquito repellent at Hain Lake

Upon arriving, I found a nice spot to pitch my tent on some lush grass that would be in the shade later in the afternoon. That was about the only thing normal for what you would call a shakedown ride. Mitch’s wife and I laughed the day away in the air-conditioned house and we worked together to whip Mitch up a baked cheesecake for dessert. Later in the day I found out that everyone was planning a going away party for me. John rode over on his Harley. Jason and Angie and our granddaughters showed up with a couple buckets of Kentucky Fried Chicken. My nephew and his wife and kids joined in and we had a pool party almost till dark. After everyone went home, we broke out the cheesecake 😎

image

Too small one-man tent!

It was dark by the time I crawled into my tent to spend the very first night within. Oh my…it was so tight compared to my two-man tent that I have spent the equivalent of nine months in over the past three adventures. You’re probably wondering why, if I was used to a two-man tent, why did I buy a smaller one. The reason is mostly because of my bike. My new bike (Justice) does not have the capability of carrying a traditional front rack. Less bags to carry my gear means I need to go smaller. So here I am, claustrophobic anyway, working to be comfortable laying on my blowup pad and pillow. Nope, not comfortable. In fact I don’t think I slept a wink. I kept looking at my phone to see what time it was and listened to several trains go by and other small town noises. Mercifully, the birds finally began singing and I felt like it was late enough that I could crawl out and start packing up. The wind was still blowing just has hard as the day before (this time it would be a headwind home) and decided to execute executive privilege and hit speed dial to ICE#1 and asked John if he would come get me πŸ’™

On the way home I decided to pull my old tent out of retirement and find a way to make it fit in my panniers. Yep, I squished and huffed and puffed and my old roomier tent is going with me to Canada!

John helped me breakdown Justice and place it in the bike caddy. Panniers are packed and in a huge duffle bag. My plane ticket is confirmed for Wednesday morning. I’m really doing this! It’s really real! That’s a lot of “really’s” and I’m REALLY excited! Woot Woot!


15 responses to “An Unusual Shakedown Ride

  1. Angie Pattermann says:

    Go Momma Go! β™‘

  2. Alice says:

    I’m so excited to read your posts as you go on this excursion! Praying for protection and blessings as you travel.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Wishing you a great, safe trip. I’m anxious to read of your adventures & joys as well!

  4. Myrna Brensing says:

    I was just wondering yesterday when you were leaving. Prayers going your way. Keep us posted as you are so good at that. Thanks!

  5. Myrna Brensing says:

    I was just wondering yesterday when your trip was coming up. Prayers for you and safety. Keep posting as you do that so well. It is so interesting! Love you and thanks for including me in your net…

  6. DIANE MAESTAS says:

    Traci, you are an amazing woman! Looking forward to following you on this next journey. Be safe and God bless!

  7. Jannelle Robins Gaede says:

    Hope you have many days riding with a tailwind, Be safe and enjoy

  8. vicmc44 says:

    Have a safe trip Traci, will be thinking about you & sending prayers.
    Anxious to read about your adventures & see photos.
    Take care love you!

  9. Bonnie Knoll says:

    Safe travels my dear friend. May God watch and protect you on this exciting adventure.

  10. M & J Barlow says:

    Ok dear niece, so you’re REALLY going to do this. Best of luck , Gods speed, we love you!😘

  11. Judy Wadford says:

    I will be with you all the way in sprit my dear friend, may God continue to guide you. Hugs to you!

  12. glenda evenson says:

    Well, here we go again, I want you to get too old to keep doing this. It’s making me older that dirt. Just be careful, and watch all the wampus cats out there, and go with God. Love you so much. Auntie glenda.

  13. Judi says:

    Love your writing, can’t wait to read your book on all your adventures. lol God Speed, lots of prayers are with you. love you

  14. John Fairbanks says:

    Traci you are inspirational to me and I wish I could make the time to do this as well. I wish you a great experience

  15. Shelly Schap says:

    Well I/we willbe anxiously awaiting reports. Best of the best. Be safe. Love you and praying as always.

Leave a Reply

