traciwentling

Inspiration Day

June 30

on June 30, 2016
image

The Bow River in Banff

image

Bow Falls walking distance from Banff

Such unwanted excitement with United Airlines. Flight cancellations, rebooking and rebooking again left me with three hours of layover at Chicago O’Hare Airport. Texting conversations with Sue kept her informed of my new arrival time. What is it about me and airports? I’m always hungry.

A small world encounter happened on the plane from Wichita to Chicago when a young man sitting right across the isle from me asked where I was headed to bicycle. He said he saw me at the ticket counter with the unusual sized box and wondered if it might contain a bicycle but then saw my tee shirt with a bicycle drawing on it. Safe to assume I was off to cycle somewhere. Turns out he races gravel in the Wichita area and since the bicycling community is fairly small, we know many of the same local cycling icons like Marty Johnson and David Ham. We frequent the same bike shops. I just had to laugh when he told me that Mark Moerner of Apostle Bikeworks told him that a woman had returned a Brooks Cambium saddle. That woman was me as I struggle with saddle issues. Anyway, visiting with him made the flight “fly” by 😎

Once I finally got on the plane to Calgary, the co-pilot announced something that I had a feeling was important, yet I couldn’t quite make out his words due to the muffle of the intercom combined with his strong oriental accent. About that time, the steward began passing out something which turned out to be a Declaration Card. I got hung up with the question of whether I was bringing in various foods. “meat, fish, seafood, eggs, dairy, fruits or veggies, seeds or nuts”.  Did my unopened jar of Skippy Extraordinarily Crunchy Peanut Butter fall into one of those categories? What about the various unopened MRE’s? I finally decided that yes, they meant those things too. Gosh I hoped they didn’t confiscate them! Or perhaps even worse, decide I was an international smuggler and warrant that I could not enter Canada by any means.  But then another question, am I “carrying weapons such as pepper spray, guns or switchblades”. The first thing that came to mind was a gun. No, don’t have one with me (yet). Bear spray? Nope, will buy it in Banff. So I mark “no” but then remembered, I have a pocket knife buried deep in one pannier. I would not consider it a weapon though as I expect to cut rope, or a juicy Fuji Apple at some point, but a weapon? I don’t think so, and yet, I scratched out my no and marked yes instead. I wonder if my scratches indicating that I changed my mind might trigger extra scrutiny?

A painfully slow process at Canadian Customs left me constantly watching my watch but when my time finally arrived, it was a few quick questions about which foods and what weapons I was carrying and I was waived off as ho hum another crazy bicyclist.  I was finally on my way to pick up my box and duffles at the luggage carousel but the porter had already gathered my gear and was patiently waiting for me. After casually mentioning to the shuttle driver that I get motion sickness, I was offered shotgun seating for the 1.5 hour trip to Banff.

image

Two peas in a pod

 

How absolutely thrilled I was to walk into the YWCA and see Sue coming towards me. I think we may have actually screamed our delight! After spending an absurdly large amount of time putting our bikes back together and sorting our gear last night and again today, we feel we are ready to set out tomorrow.

image

YWCA where we are staying

We briefly met most of our ride-mates in front of the YWCA last night and are planning on having supper together tonight and one last sit down breakfast in the morning before taking off. One more gal is arriving late tonight. All is well as we anticipate our official start tomorrow. Please stay tuned!

 


9 responses to “June 30

  1. Yolanda says:

    Already an adventure and no dull moments. Yay for you!!! I’m praying diligently for you and your team mates. Jesus loves you!!!

  2. Judi says:

    I could not have said it better than Yolanda, so I will just agree with her. Jesus does love you and a whole lot of other people. and needless to say we are all praying our hearts out for your safety and enjoyment. Take care!

  3. Alice says:

    Wonderful pictures and exciting commentary! I truly look forward to your posts and pray for your safety.

  4. Patty and Eldon says:

    So exciting and so many adventures to come! Be safe! Enjoy! God’s speed! Hugs and prayers my friend!

  5. glenda evenson says:

    So glad to hear from you. I just don’t get what excitement you get from bicycling. It just wears me out reading about you. Be safe. Love you much. Auntie Glenda

  6. mjbar45 says:

    I’m ready ! Let’s go! Be safe we love you! Aunt Melva

  7. Carrie says:

    Happy trails, Traci!! Enjoy God’s creation!! Mitchie & I love you bunches!!!😀
    Each day I will post a bible verse for you: Psalm 23: 1-3
    The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the path of righteousness for His name’s sake.✝

  8. Carrie says:

    Hi Traci! I posted on July 2nd, but do not see it on the posts. So just in case you did not receive because I did something wrong, here is a repeat (what I can remember, anyway) Happy Trails! Enjoy God’s creation & Mitchie and I love you bunches!!! Scripture: Psalm 23:1-3
    The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’ sake.

  9. Mitchie says:

    Hey sis – still trying to catch up with what you have done so far. Carrie has tried to post a few times but has had no luck. Love Ya!!

Leave a Reply

