traciwentling

Inspiration Day

Thursday, July 19 — Meet Marci

on July 20, 2012

Just a few miles out of Cascade today, I met Marci who was riding her bike towards town on the other side of the road.  She and her husband and four boys live in the country and she rides her bike around 10 miles most mornings.  She turned around and rode with me about 8 miles warning me of an upcoming hill.  She gave me a “tour” of this area of the road which she called Temple Hill.  This is because there used to be a town called Temple Hill, but all that still stands is the Catholic Church.  Marci knew everybody in vehicles coming in both directions.  She’d say, there goes so and so, he works nights so he’s heading home.  There’s so and so, he’s my neighbor.  There’s so and so, she rides with me sometimes.  It was so good to have someone to talk to!  We had to get off the road completely when four trucks came up behind us carrying four halves of two different modular homes.  They are built in Dyersville and she sees them being moved often.  She pointed out a pumpkin patch that a few years back had won an award for the biggest pumpkin.  She identified the beautiful purple wild flowers in the ditch as Chickaree.  We shared some about our faith and became fast friends.  After she accompanied me to the top of the big hill, we said our goodbyes.  Thanks for the tour Marci!

Iowa is quite beautiful and I have been taking pictures all along that I haven’t shared with you yet.  I’ve been waiting for the perfect one to caption: “Is this heaven?  No, this is Iowa”.  Since I will be leaving Iowa tomorrow, I have decided to post the winning photo with this blog.

I rode by a private residence out in the country that had a rather large painting at the entryway.  Quite unusual and I took a picture for you.  I rested there in the shade of the painting for awhile before continuing on down the road.

One other picture that you’ll see only here is one I took at the American Legion Park where I was camped last night.  The sky was AMAZING!  It had just rained cats and dogs for about five minutes and then the storm moved on leaving an orange glow.  Even my skin looked orange and I looked like I had just used some cheap tanning oil.

When I pulled into Bennett (where I am staying for the night), I was stopped on Main Street trying to locate a café, grocery store, or the library and a man pulled up on a tractor of some sort and asked if he could help.  I told him I needed to find a place to camp.  He told me I could stay in the City Park.  Turns out he is the City Public Works Director (Mike) and certainly has the authority to let me stay in the park.  He said he’d unlock the bathroom for me.  Then he gave me directions to the local pub where they served up a good BLT.  One of the customers bought my sandwich and helped me with directions for tomorrow.  Turns out the road I was to leave on is closed for construction.  I hate it when that happens!

I’m sitting in the cool of the Public Library and the librarian is not quite like any other librarian I have ever known.  She’s chatty and friendly.  Of course, you should know that it’s just her and I in the building so I guess that’s why, but of course, I’m starved for conversation so I love it.  There is no wifi here at the library, but no worries because Mike (the Public Works guy) has told me where he lives and says I can come over later and use his wifi.  I suggested he clear that with his wife and he called her right away and got the okay.

I sure wish I could shower tonight (Uggh, two nights in a row with no shower).  Who knows, this town is so friendly, perhaps someone will take pity on me and invite me to shower at their house.  It’s early so plenty of time for that invite   😎

Gotta love these small towns!  Enjoy the pix.

Meet Marci

Share this:

Posted in Uncategorized


5 responses to “Thursday, July 19 — Meet Marci

  1. Marci roe says:

    Hi Traci,
    I felt pretty bad that you slept at the pavilion in Cascade, when we have a spare bed and a hot shower. Next time, you know where I live… Have fun- marci

  2. Connie Riedel says:

    Hi there girl,

    You blog has been very entertaining…..I think there is a BOOK in the making! Drew and I took our tent out to a couple of Co. campgrounds this week and I thought of you. The last time this tent was out was when you and I biked Montana. Great memories!
    Be safe and know you are loved!
    Connie Riedel

  3. Shelly Schap says:

    Hi friend…I can relate to your heaven pic..we were thru iowa to illinois and it is breath taking. The corn fields are like no other. The farms are just beautiful. Love ya friend…

Leave a comment